PPV | GTD | PARA

Warning: this is productivity-nerd. territory.

I have been spending most of my time over the last two days on three productivity-related systems.

  1. Notion Pillar-Pipeline-Vault (PPV; August Bradley)
  2. Getting Things Done (GTD; David Allen)
  3. Projects, Areas, Resources, Archive (PARA; Tiago Forte)

It all started with my disappointing, shocking revelations in my review. Things needed changing. Maybe my Notion system was too complex in terms of maintenance. Or maybe it was not organized enough for my needs. Or maybe my needs are different.

Initially, I spent time trying to understand what was missing. Then I realized that part of the reason was all the three. It was too complex because it was not organized, and that was because my needs were different.

So I dug further and unearthed a surprisingly difficult-to-find Notion Singapore webinar co-paneled by Tim Jeffries (see below for more info on him). For some reason, the webinar recording’s quality is poor and it hardly streams well, but I have by now watched it a couple of times.

That too, with a lot of stop-start stuff to understand Tim’s system, which seems to have the answers to several questions that I had to get my system organized.

Tim follows the GTD principles but seems to use a PARA system, which is lean but efficient. When I watched it first, I was unfamiliar with the principles of these, but he explained them briefly. The conciseness of the explanation left me curious and wanting to learn more.

I tried exploring more about these concepts. Apart from [a wonderful summary of the GTD system by a Reddit user](), everything else only added to my unanswered questions.

That led me to purchase the following books

  1. The PARA Method: Simplify, Organise and Master Your Digital Life
  2. Getting Things Done: The Art of Stress-free Productivity

I have finished the second one and I’m halfway through the second, and I think I might have found the answers.

I am going to spend some time later this evening to improve my Notion PPV system.

Tim Jeffries is a Notion Pro and a Notion Consultant. If you are interested, check out how he sets up a Notion workspace for a MasterChef chef for his particular needs for a 4-week menu at a restaurant.

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.