A Well-Spent Weekend

I have had a couple of good weeks. It is very unlikely that such a thing would happen around this time of the year. In fact, I go into a slump around October.

I’m not sure what is different, but I do seem to have more patience. Singing is helping, especially the bit of walking around with an acoustic guitar strapped to you. The motion gives you varying acoustics and you tend to discover more beautiful corners in spaces that you would miss otherwise.

This morning is an example. After waking up, I started reading. Soon I had company. An adolescent kitten called Sinju and KiKi were there. I played with them. They chased after balls separately and one chased the other (playfully) up a tree.

Once they both tired, I walked around Jay’s country home yard (or property) with my acoustic guitar. I met all the cats (including three tiny kittens). Then I came back and read a chunk of The Dark Forest as the sun came up over the hills first and then the trees.

KiKi gives me company while I read The Dark Forest

Then I had a wonderful conversation with Jay, who woke up crabby. I even made him smile. Genuinely.

This year, something is different.

PS: Jay and I celebrate our 11th anniversary today.

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.